Council tax rules for students
By Tom Okafor · Updated 2 October 2026
Links with an * may help pay for UniSorted.

After freshers' week
The At Uni pack is mostly about making the January loan payment last until April, and what to do if it doesn't.
Leave the box empty and you'll just get the PDF. Unsubscribe any time.
Do students pay council tax?
A bill addressed to "The Occupier" turning up a few weeks into a new student tenancy doesn't mean you owe anything. In a private rental the council has no way of knowing who's moved in, so it bills the address and waits for someone to tell it.
If everyone in the house is a full-time student, the house owes nothing. That's the law in England, Wales and Scotland, and the gov.uk student page says so in one line ("Households where everyone's a full-time student do not have to pay Council Tax") before adding that if you do get a bill, you can apply for an exemption.

The average Band D bill in England for 2026/27 is £2,392, up £111 (4.9%) on last year, according to the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government's figures published on 25 March 2026. That's about £46 a week. England and Scotland use bands A to H, and Wales runs to I.
Whose bill it is depends on your contract. If every housemate's name is on one tenancy agreement, it's a joint tenancy and the bill is yours as a house, because the Local Government Finance Act 1992 ranks the people living in a property ahead of an owner who doesn't. If you each signed your own agreement for a room, it's probably the landlord's. The Council Tax (Liability for Owners) Regulations 1992 make the owner liable, in England and Wales, for a house where every resident rents only part of it. That's worth putting in the same message as your exemption claim, with a copy of your agreement attached so the council can see it covers one room and not the whole house. Wales rewrote that part of the regulations from 3 June 2026, so a Cardiff or Swansea house on separate room contracts should check with the council.
In England and Wales, if it's your bill and you ignore it, you get reminders and then a magistrates' liability order, and gov.uk says the council's legal costs can be added to what you owe at that point.
What councils actually ask for
Every council runs its own form. The information they want is much the same; how you get it to them isn't. On 2 October 2026 I read the student pages for Leeds, Birmingham, Nottingham, Sheffield and Cardiff councils, and the University of Edinburgh's registry page, which explains how the City of Edinburgh Council handles it.
| Where | What you send | Does the uni tell the council? |
|---|---|---|
| Leeds | One online form for the whole house | Not needed; they ask for evidence only if they want it |
| Birmingham | Online form (a BRUM account is recommended, not required) | Aston, Birmingham City, Coventry, UCB and the University of Birmingham send a list every two weeks; anyone else sends a certificate |
| Nottingham | Contact the council tax office to apply | University of Nottingham and Nottingham Trent supply lists; a certificate if you're not on one |
| Sheffield | Online student exemption form | Not stated on the council's page |
| Cardiff | A council tax certificate from your registrar, uploaded as a photo | Not stated; check whether your landlord has already sent a student exemption review form |
| Edinburgh | A direct request to the council | The university sends a list, but the council won't grant the exemption on the list alone |
Leeds has the form I'd want. One application covers the house, it doesn't want an account number, and it asks for the address and postcode, the names of all adults over 18 living there, each full-time student's student number with their course start and end dates, and the name of each student's university or college, and it only comes back to you for evidence if it needs some.
Cardiff's is fiddlier. Its upload takes image files only (jpeg, jpg or png), so a certificate that downloads as a PDF has to be screenshotted first, which is a bit of a faff on a laptop at midnight. It's also the only page of the six that tells you to check whether your landlord has already filed a student exemption review form, and if they have, you don't need to do anything.
I'd apply the week you get the keys even if your university sends a list. Birmingham's page tells listed students "it is important you make sure your name is included", and Edinburgh's registry is blunter ("The Council does not automatically grant exemption to a student based on the list alone"). Birmingham says it'll tell you within 14 days of a decision.

The law says you have to apply. In a Student Room thread started on 5 July 2025, a University of Birmingham student wrote that their letting agency "said that students don't need to pay it (to us in person) but the document they gave us in their email states that we need to personally complete an exemption form". The email had it right. They'd made a council account and then got stuck, because the form wanted a billing reference and the letter carrying it would go to a house they weren't living in yet. On 19 June 2026 someone else replied to the same thread: "Hi, I am facing the exact same issue. How did you end up contacting the council or completing the exemption form? We don't have the reference number either". Nobody posted an answer.
A letting agent who tells a house "students don't need to pay" is giving half the rule, and I'd treat that half as wrong until the council's exemption notice is in your inbox. And a form that wants a reference number printed only on the bill, for a house that's exempt and hasn't been billed, is a badly built form; Leeds manages without one. If you hit that wall, ring the council tax team with the address and every housemate's name and student number to hand.
Your certificate (or statement letter) comes from your university, usually through the student portal, and should show your name, term-time address, course and official start and end dates. Move mid-year and you apply again.
University-owned halls don't need any of this. Birmingham's page says halls owned and managed by a college or university are exempt outright, and Edinburgh's registry says hall residents won't have to prove their status.
Broadband is the other bill a new house sorts out in the same week as the council tax form, and it's the one you choose. If you're picking a deal for a new house, Broadband Genie* compares providers at your postcode, including the smaller altnets, so you can have the install booked before move-in. If you'd rather go with a big name, there's BT Full Fibre*.
Affiliate links, you pay the same, we may earn a small commission.
What counts as a full-time student
Your course has to last at least a year and involve at least 21 hours of study a week, and gov.uk leaves it there. Leeds, Sheffield, Cardiff and Birmingham all add that the 21 hours have to run for at least 24 weeks of the year. A normal undergraduate degree clears every version.
The hours include more than lectures. Birmingham's page says study "can include a combination of classroom teaching and independent learning", so a humanities timetable with eight contact hours a week still counts. Your university decides whether you're full-time, and the council goes by what it says.
If you're under 20 and studying up to A level, the bar drops to a course of at least three months and 12 hours a week. Sheffield wants those hours between 8am and 5.30pm.
Postgraduates qualify on the same terms, and Birmingham confirms PhD students are exempt, but the end of a doctorate is where it goes wrong. Edinburgh's rules say "a student is not exempt once a thesis is submitted", and an extension of less than 24 weeks in a year isn't exempt either, while a longer one can be if your school confirms on headed paper that you're doing more than 21 hours a week of study towards the thesis.
Living with someone who isn't a student
Students are "disregarded" for council tax, meaning the council counts the house as if you weren't there. Gov.uk lists who else is disregarded, including student nurses and 18 and 19 year olds in full-time education.
| Who lives there | What the council charges | Who's liable |
|---|---|---|
| All full-time students | Nothing (exempt) | Nobody |
| Students plus one non-student | 75% of the bill (25% discount) | The non-student |
| Students plus two or more non-students | The full bill | The non-students, jointly |
One worker in a house of students gets the 25% discount, and on an average Band D bill that still leaves £1,794 for the year in one person's name. Part-timers count as non-students. Leeds says it won't award any discount where there are "two or more non-students or part-time students".
Section 6(4C) of the Local Government Finance Act 1992 takes a disregarded student in England out of joint liability, so where one non-student shares a tenancy with four students, the non-student is solely liable. Wales does it through its own regulations. What the house agrees over the kitchen table is a separate matter. Five people can split the bill five ways if that's the deal, but the council can only chase the worker, so if the arrangement falls apart in March it's the worker who gets the reminders. I'd get any split written down before the joint tenancy is signed.
Birmingham spells out one exception. If you're a full-time student and the main tenant or the owner, with the non-student on a lesser arrangement such as a lodger, you "may still be held liable". The Act ranks people by their interest in the property (a resident freeholder, then a leaseholder, down to a plain resident), and being a student only takes you out of a tie at the same level.
International students qualify on the same test. A non-British spouse or dependant doesn't break the exemption if their visa stops them working or claiming benefits. Cardiff asks for a copy of the passport or visa, and Leeds has a separate paper form posted to PO Box 911, Leeds LS1 9WJ.
Summer, and the gap after your course ends
The summer between years is covered. Sheffield lists "on your summer holidays between the years of your course" as student time, and treats a study break the same way as long as you're still enrolled and intend to go back.
The end of the degree works differently. Your exemption stops on the official course end date on your certificate, which for a lot of undergraduates is in May or June, while graduation is usually weeks later and a student tenancy commonly runs to the end of June or right through to August. From the day after it ends you're a non-student living in a house. Council tax is charged by the day.
If the whole house finished on the same date, it's the full bill, split between you, for those weeks. If you're the only one finished and the others are still students, you're the one counted adult, so the 25% discount applies and the bill is in your name. Those weeks belong in your last-term numbers in the student budget calculator, especially if the next place doesn't start until late August or September.
Part-time students, drop-outs and gap years
Part-time students don't get the exemption. "If you are only studying your course on a part-time basis, you will have to pay Council Tax," is how Birmingham puts it. If you live alone, the 25% single person discount applies, and if you live with full-time students they're disregarded, so you may get the same 25% off as the only counted adult. On a low income you can also apply for Council Tax Reduction (some councils call it Council Tax Support). Gov.uk says each council runs its own scheme and the bill can come down by up to 100%, with your income, savings and the other adults in the house all taken into account.
Dropping out ends it. Leeds asks you to ring and tell it if that happens, or if someone who isn't a full-time student moves in, and in a house where everyone else is still a full-time student, your leaving is what puts the house back on the bill, at 75% of it and in your name.
A gap year doesn't make you a student (Sheffield says so outright), but under-20s who left school or college after 30 April are disregarded until their 20th birthday or the 1 November after they finished, whichever comes first. For anyone who left school this summer, that runs out on 1 November 2026. A job alongside a full-time course changes nothing, and a full-time student with a 40-hour job is still disregarded.
When the council gets it wrong

Councils do reject valid certificates, and they bill student houses in full. Start with a letter to the council with your certificate and course dates. Gov.uk gives the council two months to reply, you keep paying the original bill meanwhile, and if it agrees it sends a new bill.
In England, if it refuses or doesn't answer in two months, you can appeal to the Valuation Tribunal. The appeal is free, though you pay your own costs. You have two months from the council's decision to lodge the appeal, or four months from when you first wrote if they never replied. When I checked on 2 October 2026, the tribunal's own site said an appeal "currently takes about 9 months" from form to decision, so a bill disputed in October of second year may not be settled until the following summer.
Your students' union can help word it. If you're in Leeds, the council tax line is 0113 222 4404 (it opens at 10am on Wednesdays, an hour later than every other weekday).
Jamie writes to people already at uni
When your loan comes in, and what's due before it does. House deposits are the usual one.
You'll also get the At Uni pack as a PDF. Unsubscribe any time.
Ask Tom a question
If this guide didn't cover the thing you came for, ask. If enough people ask the same thing, it becomes a guide.
Read us often? You can add UniSorted as a preferred source on Google.
